Day Away!

Posted: March 18, 2005 in Everything

Today is my day off! I don’t always take it, but I needed to do some work on a paper concerning the history and propriety of adolescent and pedo-baptism. I thought today was going to be a great time to get some stuff done. I was wrong! Even though I’ve read an entire book today, I picked the wrong day to be home.

The reasons:

1. NCAA Basketball Tournament (More people call-in work sick today than any other day of the year–including people who work Thanksgiving and Christmas).
2. Congressional hearings on steroids in baseball. By the way, here’s my Mark McGwire impersonation: “Uh, er, um, I’m not here to talk about the past.” Can you imagine Michael Jackson or Scott Peterson saying that?
Prosecutor: “Mr. Peterson, did you kill your wife and unborn son?”
Scott: “Uh, er, um, I’m not here to talk about the past.”
3. PGA Bay Hill Invitational (It was rained out, but pictures of a golf course are always soothing to my soul.)
4. Finally, I experienced car trouble this afternoon. I’ve gotta figure out something to do with my dying eight year-old car. Any of you got $20,000 so I can get an upgrade?

How was your day?

P.S. I–in a pathetic moment of hubris– searched “Sean Palmer” on Yahoo!. This page came up #14. Yahoo! list sites by reference (Sean Palmer) and popularity. A few months ago I was #85. Now I’m 14.

I want to thank you all for your frequent stops by. Soon I will return to some more overtly “spiritual” material in this space in the hopes that your life will be blessed. I will try to honor your time with thought-provoking, life-affirming material. I’m humbled that people make “The Palmer Perspective” a stop in their web surfing day.

But if I ever become prideful for becoming the 14th most popular “Sean Palmer” on the web, you can remind me that my preaching hero, Mike Cope, is the #1 Mike Cope on the web.

Leave a Reply

