The Irresistible Revolution / The Future Church…Hopefully

Posted: May 11, 2007 in Everything

In order to get more “reading” done, I’ve started to listen to books on CD. Last week I picked up the mp3 of Shane Claiborne’s “The Irresistible Revolution.”

It is a powerful message that has been close to my heart for a long time, though I think I’m better at talking and writing about it than doing it. Claiborne’s life challenges in the same way that Mother Teresa – whom he interned under – challenges.

When I think of the future church, I hope what Claiborne is doing is right at the heart of it, though that spells unease and trouble for most of us.

Comments
  1. Simpsongirl says:

    That’s cool, Sean. Can you imagine working with Mother Teresa?

    We are all better at talking and writing about it — but that’s a good place to start. You know the old adage – “the first step is admitting that (we) have a problem”. The present day church has several big obstacles to overcome. And their names are… Just kidding!! Well, mostly kidding.

    I hope the future church is more like what God intended. There is work to be done.

    Thanks for your post and the clip.

  2. minnowspeaks says:

    What I liked best about the IRRESISTABLE REVOLUTION was that I didn’t feel belittled even though I am not as far down the path as Claibourne is. Small steps are perhaps more solid.

Leave a Reply

