The Wedding of the Century

Posted: July 11, 2007 in family

If you’ve been checking this blog hoping to see what I was thinking, writing and leaving unedited, you’ve likely been disappointed that I have not posted in a while. The reason: Last week, my wife, two daughters and I flew cross-country to my brother’s wedding on 07/07/07. I dutifully and gratefully served as a groomsmen and my oldest daughter played the role of the emotionally fragile and feet-happy flower girl!

My brother Richard, 36, married a nice young woman named Stephanie, 34, last Saturday. They were one of the 38,000 couples that opted for lucky number 7. Interestingly, Richard and Stephanie have known each other since high school. We were all in youth group together. They weren’t high school sweethearts though. At the time, Stephanie was dating a guy in my grade and my brother was off at David Lipscomb University. I’m not sure how the two connected years later, but they did and now they wed.

Truthfully, I’ve always loved my brother, but only in the last 10 years have come to like him. Because we were so different, I frequently interpreted his actions as foolish and silly and he always thought I was too serious, self-righteous and arrogant — which was probably true. When Richard left for college I was happy, no longer would he be home to bother me and play loud music while I was trying to sleep.

I was certain I wouldn’t miss him, and at the time, I was right.

I didn’t miss him.

I’m typically not the kind of person that misses people. I most certainly wasn’t that kind of person back then.

Fortunately, with age and a little maturity I have come to appreciate his gifts and his love for people. Richard has a likeableness and an ease with all kinds of people that makes him a great salesman and serves him well as he deal with his customers — skills that are not as abundant in his younger brother.  At the same time, the years have shown me how similar we are. I’ve realized that we were shaped by the same events and did our best to respond to those events in positive and affirming ways.

This newfound closeness is apparent to me this week as he is on his honeymoon and out-of-touch. You see, over the past few years, my brother and I have unintentionally formed a habit: We talk every morning on the phone.

This week we haven’t been able to talk each morning.

I’ve noticed his absence in my life and the absence of messages left on my cell phone.

This week, for the first time in my life, I miss my brother!

Leave a Reply

