Lectureship – 3 – Reflections

Posted: September 19, 2007 in Everything

As I wrap-up my last full day at the ACU Lectures, there are three general observations that I’d like to share with in this space.

1.    Fellowship. I’m deeply encouraged by where our fellowship of churches is headed. Of course there are some people and churches that will never imagine church differently than it was in the 1950’s and 60’s. There are still a lot of old arguments and bad theology floating around, but there are also a growing number of people and places that are looking forward and attempting to live deeply into the Kingdom of God. The future of churches of Christ will look very different than our churches look now. Some will lament that, but I think it’s healthy and good.
2.    Numbers and Names. WordPress gives me the ability to check my blog states whenever I want. I get to see how many folks visit this blog and which web site referred them, but coming to an event like this puts names behind those numbers. A number of times people have said to me, “I really liked that blog you wrote about______” or “Oh, you’re Sean Palmer from the blog.” It’s nice to know that there are actually people out there and it is always great to meet you.
3.    We’re All Grown-Up. One of the coolest things about my experience this year is seeing so many of the people I went to school with presenting on the program. Each year I’m always excited about presenting myself, but this go ‘round I found myself so proud – really in awe – of what former classmates are doing and the ways they are welcoming the kingdom and how God is using them. People that I used to eat in the cafeteria with are experiencing God in an incredible way and that is awesome! By the way, some of those folks who are all grown-up used to be kids my youth group…I’m getting old.

Comments
  1. Melanie says:

    Sean,

    Sounds like a wonderful time of spiritual refreshment. I am glad you got to go and “absorb” this time, as well as give. I am looking forward to some of that in Nashville in a couple of weeks too. Those times are good – and good for us.

    Glad you are back home again!

    Mel

  2. abel says:

    Sean,
    I check in on your blog from time to time and it is always a good experience. During lectureship I ran into someone who was in my first youth group. Guess how old he is now? 40!!! If you think you feel old, this will give you an idea of how old I feel. Elizabeth’s class was great! But I agree with you. Your generation and the one behind you are on the right track and it gives me hope. God bless you and yours.

Leave a Reply

