Words Create Worlds

Posted: February 19, 2008 in blogs, family, fatherhood, home, Malia, Obama, speaking, words

This morning I had a wonderful idea for a blog. It was about the power or words. I was going to talk about Hillary Clinton’s criticism of Barack Obama, saying he offers speeches while she offers “solutions”. The blog wasn’t going to be political, or try to influence anyone’s vote or reveal my politics — I try not to do that. However, I was going to highlight how words change our lives. As one theologian has put it, “Words create worlds.”

I was going to talk about how people who think words are meaningless, can’t possible mean it and haven’t thought about it very deeply. How they must have never been changed by a song lyric, or moved to action by a speech. It was about how such people must hate Valentine’s Cards and likely rushed without feeling through their wedding vows.

It was about how books and sermons and blogs and poetry must serve no purpose for such people. After all, they’re just words. Most of all I was going to write about how when God created the world he “spoke” it into existence and how “In the beginning was the word and the word was with God and the word was God.”

But, alas, for some reason I couldn’t log in to WordPress this morning, so I didn’t get a chance to write that blog. So this is what I’ll write about instead…

As I was sitting in my weekly staff meeting this afternoon, my four-year old daughter, Malia, walked by outside the door with her teacher, Julie. Julie stopped at the glass door and held up a sheet of paper with the “bat, hat, cat, sat,” and some other things written on it. In the margin Julie had written, “Wow, guess who read today? Malia can read!”

In the midst of the meeting, I saw my daughter’s eyes beaming. Eyes that can now read all on her own. Eyes that had finished her very first reading assignment. And my eyes filled with tears. My heart filled with pride.

Malia can read words.

Don’t tell me words don’t matter!

Comments
  1. Melanie says:

    Hooray, Malia! 🙂 Pretty soon you and Ro won’t be able to spell secrets around her. Then it really gets fun!

  2. Clayman says:

    Heh heh – WordPress is down. See, that’s why bloggers need to learn to code HTML from scratch with Windows Notepad! LOL

    Just kidding.

    In all seriousness – that’s fantastic about how Malia can read. It’s kinda scary too, ain’t it Daddy?

    And, in response to Melanie’s comment – learn pig latin…

Leave a Reply

