Computer Church

Posted: March 24, 2008 in church

One of my favorite websites, Church Relevance, has a list of the top 80 church websites. Obviously websites are a great way to introduce newcomers to a church. When traveling or going to speak for a church, I always check out the church’s website before I go. I like to see the faces of people and try to ascertain what a church is about.What’s more, an ever-increasing number of people I know use the internet to choose which congregation they will visit as they look for a new church home. Here’s my question: What’s in a website? What can a church do to make its web presence useful? And what can be placed on a website that might make you visit one church rather than another? Could a church by any other website smell as sweet?

E-mail me or leave a comment and let me know what you think.

——-

Along the same lines, I’m noticing a growing number of churches hosting church “services” on the web. You can go to church by logging on. What do you think about that? I can’t imagine that the fellowship diners are all that good.

Comments
  1. rd says:

    Okay, I’ll bite. Church web sites have been very important to us this past year after moving to a new city. We’ve reviewed hundreds.

    What I look for more than anything is content. I’m not so concerned about design, functionality, widgets, etc… What I’m interested in seeing is how they articulate their beliefs, how they define their mission, where they are going. And it’s not just ‘what’ is said, but ‘how’ it’s said that counts. Is it generous, loving, thoughtful? Or is it accusatory, alienating or boastful?

    I remember one site that tried so hard to be “relevant” and “postmodern” (yes, they described themselves as postmoderns). But the bulk of their content dealt with their latest building and what they would be constructing next. Aaarrrghhh!

    -Russ

Leave a Reply

